Updates: Meet our new Intern!

Meet the Newest member of the Women LEAD team Ambar Paulino. Ambar will be working with us as our Social Media and Programs Intern in New York City!

Image

About Ambar

Born to Dominican parents in New York City, Ambar is a 19-year-old female and a rising sophomore, majoring in English at Trinity College (Hartford, Connecticut).  During her first year at Trinity, Ambar’s interests and passion for social justice and equality inspired her to join various clubs and organizations on campus including the Women and Gender Resource Action Center and her campus’ Student Government Association. She was recently reelected as one of the Senators for the Class of 2015, and was also elected to serve on the executive board for Trinity College’s Black Womens Organization (TCBWO) for the 2012-2013 school year.

Getting to know our new Intern

Why did you want to become involved with Women LEAD? Why do you care about young women’s leadership?

          I wanted to become involved with Women LEAD for a number of reasons. For starters, I wanted to put my foot forth for women’s rights, not only nationally, but internationally as well. On a daily basis, I see slogans that belittle the female community such as, “Act like a lady, think like a boss.” I personally think that women are the bosses, we are such a powerful entity and I believe that together so much change can occur. Throughout my high school and now college career, I was given many opportunities to serve as a leader in my community, and I took each and every role that was offered to me enthusiastically. Unfortunately, there are millions of women across the globe who desire to take upon these leadership roles that I myself serve in, but they are lacking the resources to do so. Some aren’t even granted these opportunities because they are female. By working with Women LEAD, I hope to not only educate myself, but all of those who I know, so that someday every woman could have the opportunity to reach their full potential and take upon roles that are not conventional for women

Name one woman leader who you think has made a difference or impact in her community/country or globally and what she did to make a difference.

           One woman leader who I believe has made a difference in the United States or even globally is Oprah Winfrey. Since her debut on national television in 1983, Winfrey has proved to me, and the rest of the world that anyone can be successful and powerful if they are dedicated and persistent in their work. She is known as one of the most influential media personalities, and is known for her endless effort to be a figure of wealth that gives back to the community. This media mogul had her own television show aired for 25 years, she produced various films and even established her own television network. In 1991, Winfrey helped to initiate the National Child Protection Act, and even invested millions of dollars of her own money to create the Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls in South Africa. Winfrey has won numerous awards, including “The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People’s Entertainer of the year” award (1989). In 2012, she was named one of the “150 Women Who Shake the World.” She is an inspirational figure to many women across the nation, regardless of their race because she embodies success. She is an example of a woman who was able to take upon a difficult task; Winfrey broke barriers in the television industry, and because of this she is an inspiration.

What is your most significant accomplishment to date?

         My most significant accomplishment to date is my completion of a successful first year at Trinity. Before I left home for college, many people warned me about how difficult someone’s first year can be. I entered Trinity knowing that I couldn’t let those statements scare me and dictate my grades. My first semester was very successful, academically and socially. I found myself with enough time to do work and to participate in all of the organizations, and accept leadership roles that I never knew I could have. I learned a lot about myself during my first year, and I know what are my weaknesses and strengths.

2 thoughts on “Updates: Meet our new Intern!

  1. As her former teacher I am soooo Proud of you! There was never any doubt of your powers. I cant wait to see how you change the world.

  2. Welcome to the Women LEAD team Ambar and congratulations on finishing your first year at Trinity College! We’re thrilled to have you on board for the summer.

Leave a Reply

